10km virgins

10km virgins

In the car on our way to the flag off point, I asked my two friends if they were going to do the run with music. They both unanimously said YES. Uh-oh.

I hadn’t prepared a running playlist prior to yesterday because I’d always assumed I’d run the entire 10km WITHOUT music (the idea of running with my iPod in hand for more than an hour was quite… strange :p), but upon knowing that my two running buddies were going to do so, I decided that I’d just take my iPod out and run with it anyway.

At the start of the run I switched on the iPod (my faithful “torres” named after the great footballer) and wondered which playlist I should run with. There was absolutely no time to deliberate because I was already running, so I randomly and abruptly chose a list of classic favourites, mostly from the 80s and 90s (!!!!). I was grinning to myself with every song that came on because they were just SUCH inappropriate running tracks!!!!!!!

I completed the run with the following songs, amongst other weird classic favourites – feel free to judge me!

“Careless Whisper” by George Michael
“Take A Bow” by Madonna
“On Bended Knee” by Boyz II Men (bwahahhaaa! pun definitely not intended)
“Everytime You Go Away” by Paul Young
“Heaven Knows” by Rick Price
“Your Song” by Elton John
“Somewhere Over The Rainbow” by Eva Cassidy
“How Am I Supposed To Live Without You” by Michael Bolton
“I Don’t Want To Talk About It” by Rod Stewart

I’ve never been a runner and I hate running. But as part of my 2009 resolution, I decided to do something different and register myself in a 10km race just to see how far I’d go. I had such grand plans to train regularly and lose weight in the process (hurhur!), which didn’t happen, obviously. I took on the run feeling severely unprepared and told myself that I should aim to just complete it, and NOT come in last. The first half of the run was generally bearable, but after the 6-km mark I started to ask myself WHHHHYYYYYYY the hell I signed up for this in the first place and WHERE the finish line was!!!!!!!! =_=

But I persevered. I clenched my fists, gritted my teeth. I stopped to walk whenever I couldn’t run. I continued running with the blister on my toe and the pain in my legs. And in the end, I arrived at the finish line at the 79th minute. I shall be satisfied with this result considering I am a first timer and hardly trained for it. :D Excuses, excuses…

Post-run shot at supper!

Post-run shot at supper!

No plans for the next run yet, but I think… why not? :) Uh, next time with a more appropriate playlist on the iPod, I promise. :P